Interview with a Makeup Guru

I had the chance to talk with a local Iowa City MUA (makeup artist) named Tyrek Allen. He strives for perfection when he creates his looks for performances. As a drag queen, Tyrek does exaggerated and theater style makeup in order to induce a WOW factor while on stage. Stage makeup includes makeup that is used to assist in creating the appearance of the characters that actors portray during a theater production, while also adding definition and depth to the natural face.

I asked Ty a few questions about his experience as a MUA, particularly in the drag makeup, which exaggerates stage makeup techniques.

Ty’s favorite makeup look he’s done

How did you learn how to apply stage makeup?

I really started by getting involved with drag and watching fellow queens in the dressing room. They really influenced me a lot and gave me tips and advice. Also, I’ve always watched YouTube tutorials and they have helped me learn a lot of things.

What are your top three essentials?

When I do my makeup, the top three things that I have to exceed expectations with are my contour, my lips, and some wow-factor lashes. These things really give a depth to your face and make your beauty more noticeable to an audience.

What are some major differences between your everyday makeup and your stage makeup?

I don’t wear eyeshadow and lip color during the day. I also want to point out that I don’t wear heavy stage makeup daily, only traditional foundation [MAC]. However, I still contour everyday with the same product I use for performances, the Anastasia Beverly Hills Pressed Powder Contour Palette.

Are there any stage makeup tips that you carry into your everyday life or routine?

CONTOUR AND BAKING!! I can’t stress that enough. It just gives your face a natural and put together look that you couldn’t get otherwise. Baking is just the process of applying different face makeup products (like concealer and setting powder) to targeted areas in an effort to set your makeup and create a flawless finish. Contouring is what gives places like your cheekbones, jawline, and nose definition. It helps create a shadow on your face that people will see.

What are quick tips for when you are in a rush?

Time management and planning ahead are important for rush applications. Always start with the most important things first, like your foundation, contouring, and eyebrows. If you still have time after you have those done, you can move to more applications like eyeshadow and your lashes. Always plan ahead if you know you’re going to be in a rush. You can have most of your face done before you start creating a look for the stage.

Are there certain places you buy stage makeup?

I shop in store and online, depending on how much time I have and where I am. I go to any theatrical store I’m near me or honestly, Amazon because it’s quick. A lot of places carry the same products, so you’re not really limited to certain stores.

How much does it normally cost?

It totally depends on what I’m buying. Products range in price and sometimes I only need 1 new thing. I’ve spent anywhere from $10 to $320 (that was at Ulta) for products that I need. You have to remember that most of these products last a long time. You definitely get your money’s worth. Also, makeup stores have sales or reward programs a lot of the time so always look into the places you’re thinking about shopping at.

What is the best skin-care routine for performers?

Always wash your face, both before AND after. It makes a world of difference. I also recommend LOTS of witch hazel. Witch hazel is a compound with powerful medicinal properties that can be used in a variety of ways. It relieves inflammation on your face and it reduces skin irritation from the heavy makeup you were just wearing. Moisturizing is another important thing to always do. Dry skin doesn’t hold makeup well.

Leave a comment